.

Zoning Officer Suspended After Harassment Claim

John Fugger made unwanted phone calls after hours to female town employee, according to complaint.

A Morristown zoning officer has been suspended without pay after another town employee filed a harassment complaint.

The complaint, filed last Tuesday, states John Fugger made unwanted calls to a female who filed the complaint—also an employee in the Public Works department—after hours, despite being told to stop, according to the complaint.

As a result, Fugger, who has been a Morristown employee for nearly 25 years, has been suspended without pay from his $83,469 a year job while the town investigates the charge.

"Obviously, any charge no matter what the level is we take very serious at the administrative level," Mayor Tim Dougherty said, noting both Business Administrator Michael Rogers and the Morristown Police Department have either called for or have begun investigations into the charge.

Rogers said Fugger has called for an administrative hearing regarding the charge, which the town is by law required to schedule within 30 days.

"Based on the complaint and other information we received that day, the administration took action and served John with a preliminary notice of disciplinary action," Rogers said.

The town will hire an attorney, which will then meet with Fugger and his accuser, as well as any others as needed. 

Should Fugger be exonorated of the charge, he would be retroactively paid for the time he was suspended, Rogers said.

The business administrator said this was the first police complaint made against Fugger in Morristown. "That was why we took action," he said. "I can’t speak to any other related disciplinary action."

"We are going to move swiftly to make sure everyone's rights to a safe work environment are respected at all times," the mayor said.

The employee who filed the complaint declined comment on Friday.

Updated: Additional information and comments from Business Administrator Michael Rogers was added to the story.

PatchofJunk October 08, 2012 at 02:53 PM
Let Morristowngreen.com write all the articles that appear negative to the Town of Morristown. This is why everyone finds the Patch to just be this administration's boasting website. How about some real reporting. Pretend this was a DUI and give us all the information. Very one sided
John Dunphy October 08, 2012 at 03:12 PM
Thanks for reading!
Cameron Wallace October 08, 2012 at 06:23 PM
hey, John Dunphy I liked your article. I reread it & still see no bias
Tryclyde October 08, 2012 at 06:47 PM
Yeah Junk, let's all pretend that nothing negative EVER happens in Morristown. And please explain how this isn't real reporting.
John Dunphy October 08, 2012 at 06:50 PM
To blockx, please see prior articles where comments making claims that have not been factually substantiated have been deleted. If you have a serious problem with an establishment, you should first go to the police. If you have a serious interest in the matter and would like Patch to investigate, you can email us at morristown@patch.com. Once again, if claims that cannot be factually substantiated and are subject to criminal lawsuits (yes, we care about being sued because potentially inflammatory statements are made on our site), they will be deleted every time we catch them. As some have said before, trying to sneak comments about a business onto this site does not benefit those wishing to see a resolution to what they feel is a potential problem. CONTACT THE POLICE AND EMAIL US AT MORRISTOWN@PATCH.COM. KTHXBAI
Chris October 08, 2012 at 08:33 PM
I guess Patch of Junk is the Zoning Officer who was suspended! Lol. I think the article is fine. P.s. - I wish my job ended at 5pm! No calls, no work and no E-mails at night? For $83k? Where do I sign up?
nancy white October 08, 2012 at 11:19 PM
Comments should be reserved until facts are in. Such tangled webs we weave. The truth will be shocking to some, to others who are aware, not so shocking. The administration has not been as forthright as needed be. As far as reporting, Patch has not been as acurate as Morristown Green. Many of us are suspect of those reasons.
John Dunphy October 08, 2012 at 11:32 PM
Nancy, we always strive to be accurate in our reporting. If we have missed anything, please do not hesitate to email me at John.dunphy@patch.com or call me at 973-380-3206. I look forward to hearing from you.
blockx October 09, 2012 at 12:16 AM
I walked past the Metro Shop at 11:30PM the other night. This is a clothing store and it was PACKED and 20 people were waiting outside. 130.5 Speedwell Ave. Scary Scary Place
John Dunphy October 09, 2012 at 12:20 AM
Now you're getting it.
Moira October 09, 2012 at 01:57 AM
Was the dismissal with or without pay? Article says both.
John Dunphy October 09, 2012 at 02:13 AM
Thanks, Moira, for noticing. It appears there was a flub in copyediting. I've made the correction. It's withOUT pay.
Motown Resident October 09, 2012 at 02:14 AM
I thought the article was fair and informative. I hope Fugger is cleared, he seems like a nice guy and I have meet him several times over the years. Let's hope it's just an overzealous co-worker and not harassment. Moira, dismissed without pay, if cleared he will get back pay.
Michael MacDougal October 09, 2012 at 04:47 AM
John has always been very professional and fair in all of my dealings with him over the years and he really cares about the well being of the town. Clearly his record has been clean and hopefully the facts prove him to be innocent of all charges. Mike Mac
I seek TRUTH October 09, 2012 at 04:10 PM
Mike Mac said "Clearly his record has been clean". Are you making that comment based on Mr. Rogers statement or do you have personal knowledge this is %100 true ? I am not calling Mr.Rogers a liar or making the claim he is hiding facts about John's past reagrding the possibility of other harassment claims filed against him, I'm just asking you a question.
I seek TRUTH October 09, 2012 at 04:21 PM
Nancy, my personal life experiences lead me to believe that the "good ole boy network" is alive and well in most administrations. All too often it seems those who we give authority to make our lives better seem to have only THEIR best interst at heart. I hope the people in charge of this investigation do the right thing whatever the outcome NO LIES... NO COVER UPS... Tell us the darn TRUTH !
Bonnie Arnold Haynes October 10, 2012 at 09:01 PM
Dr. Arnold, my sister and myself have owned a building in Morristown since 1957. We have worked with Mr. Fugger as the town's zoning officer. H e has been nothing short of top notch. Professional, knowledgble and dedicated to doing the right thing. I have also worked with quite a few other towns officers and could say nothing positive about Them. I trust the town's integrity will measure up. It would be despicable to find down the road that a. Man's life was jeopardized as a political favor to some of the back room boys. Bonnie Arnold Haynes
Bonnie Arnold Haynes October 10, 2012 at 09:08 PM
What is trammell crows real interest in this town? Where do they get their money? And was any punishment meted out to the past Mayor who spent his first night in jail Drunk as a skunk?
Bonnie Arnold Haynes October 10, 2012 at 09:11 PM
Russ Crespolini is one of your really good writers. More please.
John Dunphy October 10, 2012 at 09:26 PM
For a buffet of Russ Crespolini and then some, click here: http://mendham-chester.patch.com
meme May 13, 2013 at 05:08 PM
was he drunk when he was harrassing her? Seems thats what he likes to do is drink!!
memem May 13, 2013 at 05:08 PM
was he drunk when he was harrassing her? Seems thats what he likes to do is drink!!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »